Short Fiction Review: Fangs for the Memories by Molly Harper

Fangs for the Memories by Molly HarperFangs for the Memories by Molly Harper (Half-Moon Hollow #0.5)

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Humour

Publisher: Pocket Star on November 2, 2015

Source: Publisher via NetGalley

Rating StarRating StarRating Star

My thanks to Pocket Star and NetGalley for providing me with a digital review copy. No compensation was provided for this review, and all opinions are my own.

How did Andrea and Dick Cheney fall in love? Join Half-Moon Hollow’s favorite couple for a trip down memory lane—to a time when Mr. Wainwright was newly dead, Jane Jameson was a newbie vampire, and a budding paranormal romance was not yet uncorked…

Read More

Half-Moon Hollow’s supernatural social event of the season—Zeb’s Titanic-themed werewolf wedding—is coming up, and Dick Cheney (not that Dick Cheney!) needs a date. But Andrea’s had enough of clever, handsome, and rakish to last a lifetime, and Dick Cheney is certainly not the sort of man you bring home to mom (not that Andrea’s deadist parents are speaking to her ever since she dropped out of college and became a blood surrogate.) Shameless, relentless, roguish, with a Stetson-worthy swagger, a naughty sparkle in his eyes, and a constant smirk—oh, and fangs—no, Dick is the last person (er…vampire) Andrea wants to date.
But the infuriatingly irresistible man who lives quietly on the edge of a criminal underworld knows exactly what he wants, and once he surprises Andrea with a thrilling hot and dirty kiss behind the paranormal bookshop, she knows what she wants too: Dick. All it takes to ignite their unconventional courtship is a near-undeath experience that confronts Dick with a choice between turning Andrea, losing her forever, or tapping into his countless shady resources).

 LOL Review Icon Paranormal Romance Review Icon Short Stories Review Icon

Are you a fan of Molly Harper’s Jane Jameson and Half-Moon Hollow series? Have you always wondered just how the vaguely hillbilly-esque vampire Dick Cheney (not that Dick Cheney!) won the heart of Andrea, Half-Moon Hollow’s most sophisticated human resident? Look no further than FANGS FOR THE MEMORIES.

Just as a word of warning, while you could technically read this as a stand-alone, personally I don’t think FANGS FOR THE MEMORIES would be a good introduction to Harper’s oeuvre because it references so many important events that happened earlier in the series. If you’re intrigued, I highly recommend Harper’s first book, NICE GIRLS DON’T HAVE FANGS.

Fans of the series will remember that Andrea’s ex-boyfriend Matthias is a serious piece of work. Yeah, he’s a vampire, but she knows not all vamps are bad – after all, Jane and co. are some of Andrea’s closest friends. But she is a little leery of men, and is wholly unimpressed by Dick’s unique charms. His attempts at courtship are hilarious and honestly a little inept, but I was pleasantly surprised by how romantic Dick can be. Good for you, buddy! Maybe one day he’ll repair the name of Dick Cheney…although it’s not bloody likely (bloody…ha).

Andrea’s perspective on the goings-on of her friends in Half-Moon Hollow is refreshing, particularly her attitude towards occult bookstore owner Jane and her admittedly whacky behaviour. While I generally love all of Molly Harper’s characters, former librarian turned vampire Jane will always hold a special place in my heart. But there are some pretty fantastic moments with the series’ supporting characters in this novella, including one of my personal favourites: the delightfully psychotic head of the local Vampire Council, perpetual-teenager Ophelia. I can’t wait for Harper’s novella about that vampy ray of sunshine!

Perfect for fans of Molly Harper’s paranormal romances, FANGS FOR THE MEMORIES is a light and funny novella that does justice to Dick and Andrea’s love story. I’m not always a fan of novellas but this one hit all the right notes!

Have you read anything by Molly Harper? What light and funny books have you read this month? And most importantly, novellas – yea or nay? Inquiring minds want to know!

Related Posts

  • Molly Harper is one of the few pnr authors I can still read 🙂

  • Lynn Williams

    I seem to be reading EPIC books this month rather than fun and short type stories! I haven’t read any by this author so perhaps I’ll have to go and look her up – a bit of fun is great in between epics!
    Lynn 😀

    • I’m the exact opposite this month! When life is busy, short and fun books are what I crave. If you’re feeling like you could go for some hilarious PNR, I highly recommend Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs. It’s about a children’s librarian who gets turned into a vampire in the rural southern United States. It’s SO funny! 😀

  • Ahh she has the worst taste in puns! 😀 I haven’t read this one yet, I don’t always read the novellas – unless I’m starved for new stuff from that author and I’m not quite there yet with Harper. My favourite of her series will always be the Alaskan werewolves – I love those books! She combines sexy with funny in such a great way.

    • HA, I know right?! Some of them are truly cringe-worthy. The Alaskan werewolves books are so good – I’ve only read the first two, though. The third one has been sitting on my ereader forever! I really need to get around to it. Those books made me want to run away to Alaska! 🙂

      • Yep, Alaska made it onto my bucket list of travel destinations because of this series. I actually keep adding places to it because of books 😀

  • I really enjoyed this novella as well! It made me wish for a longer piece of work focusing on these two though.

    • My sentiments exactly, particularly since there was so much build up surrounding Andrea and Dick’s relationship!